Rawleaf: Turn over a healthy new leaf

We have all grown up on idealistic lessons about healthy living from our parents as well as our teachers. Even the school curriculum is designed to make us aware of the benefits of a balanced diet. But as we grow up, those lessons keep fading away while we are enticed by those delicious looking foods everywhere around us.

I am also one of those people who are slaves of their taste buds and forget how to count when it comes to calories. But off late, I have found myself thinking of giving my body a healthy break every now and then. I can’t really cook so I am always on the lookout for ready-to-eat options and Rawleaf being the champion of the game, I decided to start this new dimension of my diet by ordering from them. The promising feedback of customers on Zomato only made my decision stronger.

When I visited their website to see their menu and decide my order, I sifted through it for a long time to understand them and their products, since I have never tried ordering healthy food before.

Rawleaf is a brand of fresh packaged salads and lettuces, developed by Zingreens Farms Pvt Ltd, having over 30 years of experience in the fresh produce business. They claim that their products are made from world class seeds coupled with best practices to grow the fresh produce at their farms close to the city and that they deliver freshest salads within 24 to 48 hours of harvest. They use special insulated bags to ensure freshness and to maintain temperature during the delivery process, without the use of additives or preservatives.

The website had nearly 50 vegetarian and non-vegetarian salads, besides wraps, cold pressed juices and smoothies. I was pleasantly surprised. I hadn’t expected to be spoiled for choices in the healthy food department. Also, every dish comes with the listing of its nutritional value, thus helping to make an informed decision.

The food was sent neatly packaged in food grade tamper proof packs and there was no spillage in the plastic bag that contained my order. The juices and smoothies were sent in glass bottles tightly closed and sealed. Everything contains date of preparation and the date by which it must be consumed. I was very impressed with their packaging, as it’s a long commute from their outlet to the place where I had the food delivered, and everything looked and tasted absolutely fresh. Every food item came with plastic cutlery, paper napkin, salt and pepper sachet. It was all very neat. Double thumbs up!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had ordered the following:

‘Zest’ cold pressed juice– This juice contained pomegranate, watermelon and mint. It was very refreshing and tasted natural.

All Berries Smoothie– This contained all of my favorite things- blueberry, blackberry, strawberry and raspberry with yoghurt and honey. Loved the mild sweetness of this one. But I would have liked it more had it been thicker.

Banana & Kiwi Smoothie– I had never personally tried a mix of these two fruits but their flavors worked smoothly together to create a tad sweet and filling smoothie. But again, I would have preferred it to be thicker.

Herbed Cottage Cheese Wrap– A soft wheat flour wrap filled with lettuce, bell peppers, jalapenos, gherkins and olives in a hummus base with salad dressing. There is an option to customize the salad dressing while placing the order and I chose the good ol’ Caesar dressing. This wrap was wholesome with subtle flavors of herbs, so it didn’t taste bland whatsoever. The hummus and salad dressing were used very judiciously and didn’t make it too creamy and rendered just the right amount of moistness to the vegetables filling.

12310621_10153896308676802_4267436266686379838_n

Assorted grilled vegetables with potatoes and coriander– This is my preferred dish even when I eat out at restaurants, so I was quite confident about this one. But I am used to having the grilled vegetables with mashed potatoes or cous cous rice, generally, so it took me a while to get used to this salad. After that, I could truly appreciate the nutritiousness of the vegetables. Of course, that feeling of ‘eating healthy’ helped and so did the vinaigrette dressing which came with the veggies.

12341389_10153896309126802_358694198924304903_n

12301763_10153896308771802_1130957765459446069_n

Tasty Pasta Salad (veg)– Soft penne in olive oil with corns, tomato and black olives looked fresh and lovely but tasted even better once I used the pesto dressing. It tasted delicious even without the creamy sauce and cheese that I am used to.

12341206_10153896309176802_7505742356766603583_n

12310581_10153896308996802_843524891596698319_n

I loved my Rawleaf experience and in no way, did I have to compromise on the taste. If healthy food tastes like this, I am all for changing the course of my diet. The best part about ordering from here was that everything is ready-to-eat and with the packaging and cutlery, all one has to do is open the pack and start eating anywhere. The salads are accompanied with the dressings packed separately which gives you the option of using as much or as little of it in your salad, as you would like.

Thanks for a hearty, healthy and fresh meal, Rawleaf. Until we meet again! 😀

Rawleaf Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato


Leave a comment